Program Info > Standings

ENYTB teams compete for berths to entry-level tournaments in three different sanctioned National Championship Tournament Series (NCTS): AABC, NABF and PONY. These post-season berths are "earned" on the field, through regular season play, much the same as in Major League Baseball (MLB).

Developing a rational structure for determining who wins what is the subject of this Program Info sub-menu. It would be easy to be fooled by the seeming simplicity of this topic, and think it trivial. But, as you will read, developing a rational structure for determining who wins what against a backdrop of multiple competition levels, multiple sanctioning choices, and schedules that are unique to each team (because they are competitively balanced and customized to the preferences of each team), is challenging.

The first menu item below, Regular Division, shows in considerable detail how the current structure is derived from that of MLB while incorporating the significant structural differences between MLB and ENYTB. For example, MLB has the same number of teams in each division, has only one competition level, has only one post-season, and has the same number of post-season berths every year. Thus, in many ways, the structure of MLB is a simplified version of what is required for ENYTB, the equivalent of having a competition among Gold teams only under a single sanctioning body e.g., AABC.

The second menu item below, Wildcard Division, discusses how "bonus" post-season berths are awarded to ENYTB teams via its wildcard process. As explained therein, similar to MLB, wildcard berths do not actually require a separate wildcard division.

The third and final menu item below, Tournament Qualifying Games explains how all games are tournament qualifying games provided either opponent is eligible for any of the three sanctioned National Championship Tournament Series (NCTS).